Friday Haiku Again!


cat

Carla Cat

Here are some more haiku for your reading pleasure. They occurred to me over this past week. The first haiku was a real compliment given to me by a sweet lady. The second haiku is about the tremendously successful program that Youth Services organized. The third poem is about the night I had to return to work at 9 pm to respond to reports of the building being unsecured. The front emergency door was propped open and I called the police to do a walk through. Fun stuff. The last few poems are about my home and pets.  

_________________________________  

A sweet compliment:
Beautiful complexion
Just like a baby.  

________________________________  

Rain, rain, go away.
Come again another day!
Readapalooza is here to stay.  

(Apologies for the last haiku since it doesn’t follow the 5-7-5 rule.  But it does rhyme!)  

________________________________  

Canine, K-9 cop
Check for “maybe” intruders
Staff left door adjar.  

________________________________  

Sweet strains of music
Curl around me in my bed
Lulling me asleep.  

________________________________  

Claws pluck at the sheets

Sweet under covers cuddle 

Purring cat, warm fur. 

(This one celebrates my pet. Of course, being a librarian, I have cats. I think I heard that some library schools give them out along with the diploma — just kidding. My sweet kitty Carla, named after my first boss, likes to crawl under covers with me. I often fall asleep while holding her like a Teddy bear.)  

________________________________  

Winking slanted eyes
Cats show love in subtle ways
Morse code in their gaze.  

________________________________  

“Nuk-nuk, nuk-nuk” laughs
Mr. Nuthatch as he eats
All the bird feed seed.

About shortlibrarian

I am a woman working in the Twin Cities as a programming Librarian.
This entry was posted in Haiku and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Haiku Again!

  1. Linda says:

    I hope Friday Haiku keeps on. Really enjoying them:)

  2. Hiya !, just a quick note to share that i’m a new comer to your site but I’m definitely a fresh fan. Oh and to cheer on ITALY for WORLD CUP 2010!! Viva Italia!!

Leave a Reply

