Library Haiku


Friday HaikuLibrary haiku! The first haiku is about the horrible, awful, no good road construction that has overtaken my small town. There isn’t a neighborhood unaffected by it. It is hard to travel from the north or south access points and one of the highway bridges is blocked. Today the road I use to get into town from the east was covered in those nasty black asphalt pebbles that spring up like popcorn when you drive over them. Ugh. Luckily, I have some nice patrons who help brighten my days. One of them paid my family an indirect compliment after I helped them at the reference desk.

Like many parts of Wisconsin, we’re having severe weather in the northwest area. I got to implement storm procedure this week and usher everyone down into the basement for shelter. Whee!

Finally, I am celebrating the midway point in the adult summer reading program. We have had over three hundred entries so far. How cool is that?

Part of the success of our programs is the communication between our staff. My last haiku remembers a recent staff meeting.

Blocking all the roads
Leading in and out of town.
Road construction sucks.

Answer a question.
“Your family must be good,”
She pats my arm then.

Get everyone down
Stairs and lock up the building:
Tornado warning.

Reading program for
Adults offer fun prizes.
Read for chance to win!

Staff discuss changes
And needs over breakfast treats.
Morning meeting time.

About shortlibrarian

I am a woman working in the Twin Cities as a programming Librarian.
This entry was posted in Haiku, Reference Interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

