Passion for their Pursuits


The following videos share more in common than the obvious of American Sign Language. These young women are passionate about what they’re doing. I enjoyed the signing as much as the good music. I loved how expressive their translations were in which the beat of the music was as important as the meaning of the lyrics.

The passion displayed in these videos made me wonder: what am I passionate about? How can I perform my job or extracurriculars in a way that inspires those around me?

This first video features the song “Fuck You” by Cee Lo Green. The young lady is translating this song for her final exam in a college level American Sign Language class. Warning: the language is as explicit as the title.

This next video is by a young lady named Kelly. She is graduating from college in May. She has posted about seven ASL song translations on YouTube. She also has a very expressive face and body language. The song is “Grenade” by Bruno Mars.

About shortlibrarian

I am a woman working in the Twin Cities as a programming Librarian.
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

