I’m Reading a Book


With over 1.3 million YouTube views, you may have already heard about Julian Smith’s music video called “I’m Reading a Book!”. It’s equal parts funny and creepy. This unique mix is accomplished with excellent camera work and sharp visuals.

The basic concept of this video is that a man is trying to read in peace without interruptions. When he is stopped from doing so, he scolds people by saying “I’m reading a book! Don’t you ever interrupt me while I’m reading a book.”

I think the video is creepy because the singer is wearing a black hoodie with the hood pulled up, and his features are very harsh. He is really intense and seems to have violent tension barely restrained. On the other hand, the mood changes to become funny with the use of strange situations (ie. stealing a book from a birthday boy) and the techno-pop melody sung in a falsetto behind the refrain.

The camera work is great, and I like the visuals. I think this video succeeds with its goals. And I agree with its message. There’ve been times when I just want to get lost in a book and anyone who interrupts me faces my wrath. 😉

About shortlibrarian

I am a woman working in the Twin Cities as a programming Librarian.
This entry was posted in Videos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

